Chapter 14 : Gunatraya Vibhaaga Yog| Shreemad Bhagwad Geeta Sanjay Ki Nazar Se

Share this on :

Through ages, an extremely powerful tendency of human has always been to discover the truth of life. To decipher the secret to peace human beings moved towards the Bible, Quran , Guru Granth Sahib and so on and so forth. But the ultimate guide to removing and banishing all pain and misery of the mortal beings still resides with the most potent book of hymns across all centuries which the “Bhagwad Geeta”.

The most important question has always been “Who Am I?”. The Bhagwad Geeta contains the answers to this effective question.

This chapter discusses the following pertinent aspects:

  1. The three Tri-guns
  2. What is “Guna teet”?
  3. What are Tri Dosh and its derivation from Ayurveda?
  4. What is the link between “Jad” and “Chetan”?

Ayurveda is based out of Bhagwad Geeta. When the body shows the tendency of Vata, it is due to the accentuation of the  Satoguna in the human being. When the Pitta dosh in the body increases- Rajo Gun predominates. When the Kaf tendency is towards the rise it is due to the existence of the Tamo guns.

Therefore we can say that Bhagwad Geeta is a spectacular book which is all-encompassing. It covers all aspects of Biology, Botany, Physics and Chemistry and complete knowledge and reasoning of the “Ayur Veda”.

This chapter called the “Gunatraya Vibhaaga Yog” can be divided into 7 different genres which are as follows:

  1. Param Gyan
  2. Qualities of Prakriti 
  3. What do you understand by the term Trigun?
  4. The relation between Trigun, Death, and Rebirth?
  5. Who is Gunateet?
  6. Qualities possessed by a person who is Gunateet?
  7. The process of becoming Gunateet

Param Gyaan or Knowledge is discussed here. This whole Nature is like a mother who conceives and gives birth and “I” the supreme God is like a father who impregnates the nature giving birth to all that surrounds. The subject matter of this section is that ultimate understanding which is beyond all other knowledge. It deals with the conduct of man and the different influences that act on his subtle body in life.

“Jad” which can be taken synonymously to Origin and “Chetan” which can be expressed to Life-giving and can be expressed as Nature who is the supreme God.

The Prakriti is made up of the following Gunas:

  1. Sata Guna
  2. Rajo Guna
  3. Tamo Guna

These qualities are the Trigun which give rise to different personality types according to the Prakriti of an individual. The three Gunas – Satoguna, Rajo, and Tamo – mutually constitute every human being.

But how do we recognize these qualities? It can be explained as follows

 Sattva is pure and brilliant. When in a person this predominates over the other two Gunas, Awareness level increases, Wisdom increases, a person’s wisdom shines in his expression. When the next aspect Rajas “Raag is more”, He gets attached to the results of the Action is of the nature of passion which creates a craving for what you do not have an attachment to what you possess. When this Guna dominates over the other two, the person develops greed, becomes involved in the endless activity and suffers from mental unrest. Tamas arises out of ignorance which manifests as delusion, inertia, and heedlessness. They are lazy and do not want to do anything.

Sattva binds people through attachment to knowledge, and happiness. Rajo Guna binds through attachment to action. Tamas binds through heedlessness, indolence, and sleep. When we understand this we can manage to get people to do the work. So this is helpful for managers, teachers and the like.

Science generally does not believe in what is unseen nut quantum Physics has an explanation.

If we want to learn what happens after Death we need to understand Bhagwad Geeta. If Satto Gun are on the increase towards the death time, then a being moves towards the “Heaven” or “Swarg”. Sri Krishna gives an idea as to the direction in which the mental equipment of the dead one would reach soon after death. There is always continuity of thought in this life. Today’s thoughts are an extension of yesterday’s thinking and the thoughts of tomorrow will be habituated by today’s thinking. This can also be complemented with the knowledge of Science which also talks about the process of Action and Reaction. On the same equivalence, the type of thoughts entertained during one’s lifetime will determine the type of thoughts that will follow after death also. So if the Sattva Guna is dominant at the time of death one will most defenetly attain the highest realm of copious joy which can be equated to “Swarg” or “Heaven”.

If towards the last phase of Life , the mind is under the influence of Rajas at the time it leaves the body, it takes the quintessence among those who are attached to the action. It means that the person will go again to the cycle of rebirth in “Manushyalok” that is become a human being for the desires of fulfilling his thoughts. Similarly, when one dies when Tamas is dominant one reaches the realm of irrational and full of filth such people or beings such as animal, insect or a vegetable.

Just like us, Arjuna who is an affectionate student of Lord Krishna desires to know the characteristics of such a person who has transcended the Tri- Gunas. And the correct principles of “Gunateet” person. Shri Krishna replies that one who is unaffected by the effects of the three Gunas like knowledge, deed or delusion, is the one who is beyond the Gunas. Such an enlightened soul is indifferent to the activities of the Gunas. He is equanimous in grief and happiness, looks upon a clod of earth, a stone and gold equally, is unmoved by the pleasant and the unpleasant or by the praise or blame. He has the same behavior towards enemies and friends. He abandons the selfish nature. He praises the supreme God Krishna with enduring love. Such an individual is a true Gunatita and can finally become one with God.

Share this on :